I was a man, once.

Dedication

This poem is dedicated to all my fellow travelers who have helped me reach this point.* Hopefully I can help someone the way you have helped me.

Poem

I Was A Man, Once

I was a man, once
I spoke as a man, walked as a man,[1] thought as a man[2]
Most see me as a man
I am a man no longer

What is a narrative?[3]
A myth
A story to explain the unexplainable
No more valid than Adam & Eve[4]
Why do they matter again?

What’s in a name?[5]
Nothing
Everything
Nothing when imposed
Everything when chosen
Reflecting worlds of truth

Am I trans enough?[6]
Why should I care what you think?
I don’t need your validation.
I know who I am now.

References / Allusions

  1. Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons  Walk like a Man
  2. I Corinthians 13:11
  3. Natalie Reed “I Always Knew”
  4. Genesis 2-5
  5. William Shakespeare  Romeo and Juliet Act II scene 2
  6. Erica, Ascendant i’m a “fake trans girl” and i hope you are too

*Thank yous

There are too many to name, and I’ll probably leave a few out, but these are some of the people that helped get me to this point where I accept who I am.  I’m using twitter handles or blog titles where I can find them. In no particular order:

  • Natalie Reed @nataliereed84
  • Erica, ascendant
  • Lydia Neon @LifeinNeon
  • Rumplestiltsqueer @PrincexAchilles
  • Zinnia Jones @ZJemptv
  • Quirk @nonviolentrage
  • Drew Jacobs @Rogue_Priest
  • Sarah Christine @TheODSTGirl

There are many, many, others; as well as others who have helped me in different ways. If I didn’t mention you here, it doesn’t mean I’m not grateful.

Leave a Reply

