Let’s talk about arrogance.

So, when people find out that I am an atheist, they often accuse me of arrogance. Why? Because I don’t believe in their gods. They say that I am arrogant because their gods created the entire universe just for us, and that I am an ungrateful fucking person for not getting down on my knees and worshiping. I might be arrogant about many things, but it was humility that lead me into disbelief. It was the ability to admit that I might be wrong about the question of the existence of God that lead me to reject belief. I am not arrogant for being an atheist. I don’t think that they are arrogant for believing in gods. I think that the belief that this universe containing billions of billions of stars was created just for human beings is extremely arrogant, but that the people who believe this lie are just misguided, not necessarily arrogant. Some of them can be. Just like some atheists can be arrogant.

Speaking of atheists and arrogance, I need to get something off my chest here. Some atheists will say that they are smarter than believers because they reject the concept of gods. Not believing in gods does not make you more intelligent. Plenty of atheists are dumb as a brick. You got one question right. That doesn’t make you a fucking genius.

I am an anti-theist. I believe that religion, in general, causes more harm than good. I believe that faith, defined as belief without or contradictory to evidence, is one of the most harmful things ever invented by  man. I am lucky enough to have applied scepticism to the god question. I am not any smarter now that I am an atheist than when I was a believer. Let’s not start lying for atheism like many do for religion.

Leave a Reply

