Emily’s adventures in atheism 1

I have a friend. Let’s call him Tim. Tim’s a liberal Christian. Believes in evolution, science and whatnot. He knows that I’m a bisexual atheist. He doesn’t know that I’m trans* and incorrectly thinks that I’m male. Ok so that should do for background information.

So, I’m telling Tim about the Kat Williams comedy routine criticizing evolution. You know, the one going around YouTube. Just trying to lead into the statement he is about to make here. So Tim ends up saying,

“The thing that frustrates me so much about militant atheists is that everyone at some point has to take their position based on faith. Saying that you need evidence is just hypocritical.”

I quickly changed the subject because it was late at night, and I didn’t want to get into a huge argument at 2am.

But let’s deconstruct this statement shall we.

Militant Atheists

I will accept this term when vocal, strident, and anti-theist atheists start trying to ban religious people from holding office in America. I will accept this statement once religious people in the western world are fired, disenfranchised, and widely disowned by their parents for believing in God. I will accept this statement when people use lack of belief in god as a justification for terrorist acts. Don’t get me wrong. Religion does not cause terrorism. That is not my argument. Atheists can commit atrocities, just like religious people do. But they don’t say, “In the name of Dawkins, die evil religious scum,” while doing it.

Everyone, at some point, has to take their position based on faith.

Um, How much faith does it take to not believe something? “The moon is made of cheese.” I don’t believe you. Give me evidence. “You just have faith that the moon isn’t made of cheese, you don’t know, I don’t know, but we both have faith.” NO. I asked you for evidence. If you give me evidence, I will believe you. That is not a faith-based position. I am not making a positive claim.

So how the fuck am I a hypocrite for asking for evidence to back up a claim about existence? I do not have faith that no gods exist. I just want proof before I will believe in any of them.

Also the Abrahamic god does not exist. The Abrahamic god is defined as being all-good, all-powerful, all-knowing, and all-present.If he is all good and all-powerful, then he cannot be all-knowing because of all the fucked up shit that happens here on earth. If he is all good and all-knowing, then he cannot be all-powerful. And if he is all-powerful and all-knowing, then he cannot be all good. So the Abrahamic god as defined, does not exist, because it is a logical contradiction. If they want to make their god more believable, they are going to have to redefine him. Not like that would make me believe he existed without having proof to back his existence up.

Now for a brief statement from a coworker:

It’s so good living for the lord.

What the fuck does that even mean? Seriously. What does that mean? To me it is just a statement to tell everyone who isn’t a Christian, that all their problems stem from not being super religious. I mean, come on. This woman has more problems than just about anyone else except for the addicts. And she seems more miserable than most of the people I work with, including the addicts. Ah random insertion of christianity into the workplace. Fun. One of my managers is even trying to recruit a couple of my coworkers to go to his church. It’s great. Yay. Fucking bullshit.

How’s about this excerpt from a coworker (who is in a supervisor position) posting on their Facebook wall:

My kids have never done anything good without the grace of the lord or their belief in God.

What? Why would you say something so demeaning about your kids, or your parenting? So, let me get this right. Your kids completely lack empathy. Your kids have never done anything out of kindness or basic human decency. Your kids have never followed your good example or teaching. Your kids would be complete fucking sociopaths if it wasn’t for Jesus. Nice to know what you think of me. (Yes I am out as an Atheist.)

This is just a very brief example of the kind of shit I see and hear every fucking day. And let’s not get into the homophobia, biphobia, sexism, and transphobia. I’m already depressed enough as it is.

One thought on “Emily’s adventures in atheism 1

  1. Pingback: Goodbye, Tim | Call Me Em

Leave a Reply

