Allow me to reintroduce myself.

it seems like I passed the 50 follower mark, so it seems like now would be a good time to tell y’all a little about who I am.

My name is Emily Jane [last name removed for privacy]. But you can call me Em, or Emily.

I like anime. Not the mainstream stuff that most people know, but things that are a little more off the radar. Some examples are

  • xxxHolic
  • Dusk Maiden of Amnesia
  • Bamboo Blade,
  • B Gata H Kei Yamada’s First Time
  • [C] Control
  • Destiny of the Shrine Maiden
  • FLCL
  • Girls und Panzer -Currently Watching
  • His and Her circumstances
  • Neuro
  • Noir
  • Oreimo
  • Rideback
  • Read or Die, and R.O.D. the TV
  • Rumbling Hearts: this one will break your heart and make you cry
  • Spice and Wolf
  • Shiki
  • Un-Go

just to name a few. So, yeah, a lot of dramas, yuri, Seinen, Josei, with a little bit of shojo thrown in.

I like My little pony, Friendship is magic. I never lost My love of cartoons. Power Puff girls for life.

Sometimes I sketch. I’m not great at it though. I don’t do it often enough to improve.

I listen to a little bit of everything, music wise. Lately I’ve been on a Traditional Celtic and Celtic rock kick. I like a little bit of country, though a lot of it is shit. I listen to rap from all over the world. Japanese rap is pretty good, even if I don’t know what they’re saying. Also Jay-z kick’s ass. Early Snoop Dogg is good, but after that third album, he just didn’t do it for me anymore. Oh, and you can’t forget the classics like Run DMC. I haven’t listened to any new rap from the U.S. in about 7 years.  I grew up listening to Zydeco, Cajun, Creole, and Swamp pop music, and still love it today. Go check out Haydley J. Castille. I like a little Funk, Punk, and “Techno” but still listen to that good old classic rock and soul music. Everything from the Everly Brothers to the Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin to Country Joe and the Fish, The four tops, the temptations, Marvin Gaye, Arethra Frankilin and many more. And I love Bossa Nova, Samba, and specifically Antonio Carlos Jobim. And You just can’t go wrong with Crooners like Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, and many others. I also love the Blues.

Other Musicians of note:

  • Bif Naked
  • T.A.T.U.
  • Melissa Ethridge
  • Eric Whitacre
  • Die Antwoord
  • Zachary Richard
  • Beausoliel
  • DJ Icee

Content Warning: Much of the Music I like has problematic elements in it. Country music is very misogynistic.

Oh yeah, and all the music that Elvis did covers of was done better by the original artists. So Fuck Elvis.

I used to play guitar, but gave it up. That’s kind of why I have so much exposure to different types of music.

I’m Bi/Pan/Non-mono sexual, that doesn’t mean I’m attracted to you. I’m actually quite picky.

I’m a trans woman. I’m taking steps towards transitioning. I bought my first girl Jeans today. Yay. :D I’m wearing them now. And make-up is fucking AWESOME.

I’m an atheist. This isn’t the post to debate me on this subject, and if you do, Your comment will be edited, to hilarious effect. Don’t try me. There are other posts for that.

I’m a cook. NO, not a home cook. A fucking Professional. {I use profanity a lot. If you don’t like, fuck off and go somewhere else.(I’m also confrontational on this blog but not in real life.[Enough of these asides for ya? :p ])} I hope to run a restaurant one day. But until then I’ll just be a broke working class girl. I pass for middle class though.

I’m twenty-nine years old. Fucking testosterone. :(

I went to Catholic School and was raised Catholic. Better education than the public school system around here, but it is one of the many reasons I’m so fucked up. “Sex-ed, what is this sex-ed thing you speak of? No reason to have sex until after you’re married, and you’re going to hell just for thinking about it.”

I’m an insomniac. I often don’t get to sleep until 6 or seven in the A.M.  That’s why you lovely folks usually get posts at four or five in the mourning.

I live in the goddamn south. That’s the southeastern U.S. for all y’all non USAians. Fuck this entire region. And for those of you that don’t know, Y’all is the plural of You.

Oh yeah, I’m a huge Green Arrow fan. But I don’t read the new 52.

I read a lot. Fiction, Non-Fiction, doesn’t really matter as long as it’s interesting.

So, now that you know a little more about me, Introduce yourselves. I’m expecting the regulars to comment here. I’ll be disappointed if you don’t.

7 thoughts on “Allow me to reintroduce myself.

  1. Oooh anime. xxxHolic is awesome. Have you seen Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle? It’s a different style of anime (more action, for one thing), but it’s written by the same people who did xxxHolic, and they’ve got the crossover-y bits with both in the beginning. Although, honestly, I really like just about everything that Clamp has written (but Tokyo Babylon is the best), and all the anime people have made of their stuff (except maybe some of the Cardcaptor Sakura anime).

    Oh, right, I am supposed to be (re)introducing myself, not just geeking out over anime…

    I’m Midori. I blog about stuff like atheism/skepticism, being a transman, and being asexual. I was intending to blog about lucid dreaming, too, but I don’t get around to it very often. I’m a college student, and I struggle with classes a lot more than I like to admit because of my recurring major depression.

    My music tastes are a bit unusual, because I like music more when it’s in a language that I don’t really know. Most of my current favorite bands are German rock or German medieval rock bands. Medieval rock is completely awesome. What can I say? Guitars and bagpipes are good together. Anyway, quick list of a few of my favorite bands: Asp, Subway to Sally, Letzte Instanz, Blutengel, In Extremo, Schelmish, Faun, Schandmaul, Mono Inc.

    As for tv stuff, I dislike movies, and I rarely watch anything other than anime or Doctor Who (<3 Patrick Troughton). Quick list of favorite anime: Shounen Onmyouji, Gakuen Alice, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, Zero no Tsukaima, Full Moon o Sagashite.

    I'm also a really big fan of books. I'm a regular at the local library, and I have a really hard time going in to return books and not leaving with more books than I came in with. These days I mostly read nonfiction, although I used to mostly read science fiction and fantasy. I almost never buy books anymore, though. They take up lots of space and I rarely read them more than once and I definitely don't have enough money to rival my local library's book collection.

    Do I win anything if I write a comment that's longer than the original post? ;)

  2. Nice to meet you! ^_^

    I’m Cait.

    My twitter handle is the same as my blog url (protected as of this post) but I’ll be sure to let you in. ♥

  3. @ Midori

    Have you seen Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicle?

    Nope. I’ll try to see if it’s on hulu. That’s where I watch most of my anime these days, not having cable, or the money to get something from the store.

    Guitars and bagpipes are good together

    Totally. I don’t know anything about medieval rock, but that combination is common in Celtic rock.Example: Dropkick Murpheys. Of course, I just like bagpipe music in general.

    I dislike movies

    I used to be quite the movie buff, but I rarely have the time to just devote an entire block to sit down and watch something. Most of what I watch these days is anime.

    or Doctor Who (<3 Patrick Troughton)

    I don’t know anything about the recent Doctor Who, but I’m a fan of the Tom Baker years. I used to read some of the books as well.

    They take up lots of space and I rarely read them more than once

    Oh, I’m definitely one of those people who will reread a book many times. If you’re into non-fiction, Let me reccommend The Wild Trees by Richard Preston. Link to summary.

    They take up lots of space and I rarely read them more than once and I definitely don’t have enough money to rival my local library’s book collection

    When I was in college, I wouldn’t go to the library, I’d go to the local Barnes&noble, sit, drink coffee, and read for free. I brought a notebook to write down where I left off. I must have read 15 books that way.

    Do I win anything if I write a comment that’s longer than the original post

    Sorry, You are 439 words short of my post. The prize remains secret. Thanks for giving a detailed reply.

  4. hi! nice to re-meet you, em! k, i’ll reintroduce myself: i’m mx. punk. yay! i love to read about trans*/queer stuff and intersectionality and stuff on the internet; i also love to blog about trans*/queer stuff. robin hobb’s first 3 trilogies are the best of anything evereverever and i read them over and over again. i drink tea and sometimes just water. i love to finger paint, use crayons, oil pastels, and ms paint, and i love putting safety pins and spikes in my clothes. kitties forever, jazz and metal til i die (billie holiday, john coltrane, thelonious monk, charles mingus, gwar, cannibal corpse, 3 inches of blood, terror, hatebreed, etc.). also i don’t like watching movies/tv; i just can’t concentrate on them. i sing jazz, paint patches, and grow inside/outside gardens. if you want to know more, my blog will tell all. i think.

    ^^^ that is a great blob of “about me.” i hope that’s what you’re looking for, em. cuz that’s what you got. me: “what does ‘run-on sentence’ mean”?

  5. @Em

    Dropkick Murphys are awesome. Flogging Molly is good, too.

    I’ve never really tried watching anime on hulu. I mostly just search google videos when I’m trying to find something to watch online. That’s kind of hit and miss, though.

Leave a Reply

