feminism, we need to talk.

Ok feminism, we need to talk. You’re hurting me, and you’re hurting my friends. I was willing to deal with that, while I thought that you were still doing good in the world. But I just found out what mainstream U. S. Feminism is about.

ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME???

Not bodily autonomy.

Not making life better for women.

It’s an argument about whether a woman should focus more on family life or career. This is downright obscene in a country where most women don’t have that choice.

When feminism is only serving the needs of upper class white cis heterosexual women, I want no part of it.

When feminism is actively hurting trans folks, I want no part of it.

When feminism hurts sex workers, I want no part of it.

When feminism ignores people of color, I want no part of it.

When feminism ignores the reality of class, and the way that affects people, I want no part of it.

When feminism upholds the same capitalist structures that keeps people unequal, I want no part of it.

When feminism upholds the kyriarchy, I want no part of it.

 

I don’t know how much longer I can keep using the term feminism to describe my views  when all it does is hurt people, and ignores the lived reality of women.

Leave a Reply

