goddamn Fucking Cis Men

So this happened:

I’m standing on a corner waiting for the walk sign, to get a bite to eat before I go to Walgreens. It’s pretty dimly lit. A cis man bikes up.

Dude: you got any weed?
Me: no
Dude: do you smoke
Me: no
Dude, quizzically: wait, are you a female?
Me: yes
Dude, while staring at my chest, disbelieving: noooo, show me your breasts
Me: —–
Dude, disbelieving: did you do that to yourself???
Me: —–
Dude: on purpose???!!!!

And that’s when I turned and walked away at full speed, skipping the meal, and going back towards Walgreens.

Dude: WAIT!!

And I didn’t hear the rest.

I was shaking for 2 hours afterward.

5 thoughts on “goddamn Fucking Cis Men

  1. Thanks. This isn’t the worst I face. I’m trying to document some of the instances of transmisogyny I deal with so that people can understand what I have to put up with on a consistent basis.

    There is a lot of good that came with transition. But there is a fuckton of bad as well.

    I love that this fucker denies my womanhood, and dehumanizes me in the way he would any other woman by asking to see my tits. Goddamn asshole.
    Not that he doesn’t dehumanize me further for being a trans-woman. Fucker.

  2. I think this guy needs to learn a simple rule:
    It is better to remain silent and be thought the fool than open your mouth and remove all doubt.

  3. it isn’t about foolishness. it’s about men’s entitlement to women’s bodies, especial those that are marginalized on multiple axes. It’s about cis people’s right to question everything about our lives, gender, and expect us to comply nicely while they dehumanize us. And don’t think that this wasn’t a threatening encounter. A non-binary teen was set on fire on the bus when they fell asleep not too far from where live. Because they were camab and wearing a skirt. It was dark, no-one was around, and could have easily turned violent.

    That’s why I turned and walked away as fast as I could without responding.

    Edit: Also, it isn’t foolishness. A cis man holding up cis-hetero patriarchy isn’t foolish. He’s complying with the system.

Leave a Reply

